WHO AM I

I woke up to a bright morning
Able to see the golden brown sun
And felt the romantic warmth
As I viewed the beauty of nature
When the sun set
I saw the bright glow
I then pitied that brother of mine
Whose sight was lost forever
And can’t see the beautiful nature
Who am I not to thank God
For giving me both healthy eyes

I arrived at the sports complex early
Ready to cheer my team loudly
Singing and dancing as usual
Lucky enough our team worn
Noise engulfed the place
Next to me was a fellow fan following quietly
Cheering without uttering a word
I realized he couldn’t talk
Who am I not to thank God
For giving my tongue ability to talk

Later in the evening
As I passed by the grocery
I saw a very beautiful lady
Selling vegetables at the grocery
When she rose to talk to me
I realized her right leg was lame
And she supported herself with a stick
Who am I not to thank God
For giving me both legs to walk

On my way back home
I boarded a “matatu”
The conductor was a nice looking guy
With well built athletic body
The passangers were talking loudly
Though he never seemed to be bothered
When a passenger wanted to alight
She made a sign to indicate that she was to alight
I then realized that he couldn’t hear
Who am I not to thank God
For giving me both listening ears

With both eyes to see clearly
Ability to engage in discussions actively
Both legs to walk
Both ears to hear what people say
Who am I not to use them well
In appreciation to God’s favour

@Sebby_The Poet™
All rights reserved
©2016

Leave a Reply

