HOLDING MY BREATH


I am at war with the world
Seeing unexpected happen
Receiving the bitter lemons
When passions were to be my portion
Paying for someone’s “sins”
Holding genuine tears
Of a true African warrior
I hold my breath and look at the blue sky
The nature is taking its course

The world isn’t mine
Is the daily phrase by my brothers
It may be true…fine
But who then owns the world
When every moment is a total mess
Innocents tied on lifetime chains
With no well wishers to bail
I hold my breath and look at the blue sky
The nature is taking its course

The sea is quarrelling
And the clouds are weeping
Showing great pity
Filled with endless mercy
Which has escaped human beings
Nation rising against nation
Leaving all in confusion
I hold my breath and look at the blue sky
The nature is taking its course

I am an alien in this land
Gone far away to my neighbours
To breath clean,fresh air
Air in my land is contaminated
By the instruments of hate
Under this tree I pity my land
Hopeless I hold my breath
And look at the blue sky
Hoping tomorrow we will smile


@Sebby_The Poet
All rights reserved
~2016~

Leave a Reply

